directly 8.450 customers. The high-voltage line mileage is 307, and 940 miles of distributing lines are in operation.

The Commission has under construction rural distribution lines totalling 85 miles in length which will add 250 customers.

The Commission has a plant investment of \$7,550,000 and an annual revenue of \$900,000.

Manitoba.—The formation of the Manitoba Power Commission was authorized by the passage of the Electrical Power Transmission Act of 1919 (c. 30, also c. 61, Consolidated Amendments, 1924) which authorizes the Commission to make provision for generating electrical energy, to enter into contracts for the purchase of power in bulk from generating agencies, and for its transmission and sale to municipalities, corporations, and individuals. In 1929, legislation was passed whereby the Government undertook to pay interest charges and sinking fund charges on an amount not exceeding 50 p.c. of the capital cost of the construction and erection of equipment required for the generation and transmission of electrical power or energy to municipalities, farms and other customers.

The Commission has built and is now operating an extensive transmission system under authority of the above Act, supplying electrical power to many thousands of customers throughout Manitoba. This power is purchased under the Seven Sisters power contract from the Northwestern Power Co. and transmitted over high-tension steel-tower lines to Portage la Prairie, Brandon, and Morden. From this main system power is transmitted to the territory south of the Winnipeg-Brandon main line as far as the International Boundary.

A branch system serving the territory along the western boundary of the province, including the towns and villages of Arrow River, Crandall, Elkhorn, Melita, Miniota, Napinka, Pipestone, and Reston, has been constructed and is operated by the Commission. This system which, until August, 1931, was supplied with power generated by the Commission's plant at Virden, is now tied into the main system and supplied with power generated at Seven Sisters.

Under the authority granted by the Electrical Power Transmission Act of 1931, the Commission made purchases of municipally-owned plants—notably at Birtle and Brandon—both of which plants have now been relegated to stand-by service and are now being served from the system's main network fed from the Seven Sisters power plant. The Commission also purchases energy from the municipallyowned plant at Dauphin which is then distributed to outlying districts.

The Commission owns and operates the central steam-heating system at Brandon, supplying heat to the business, and part of the residential, section of the city. The Commission also owns and operates the gas plant supplying gas to commercial and residential customers. It is the intention of the Commission to supply all outlying power areas from the main system just as soon as their loads are sufficient to justify the cost of building extensions.

Saskatchewan.—The Saskatchewan Power Commission was established in 1929 under the Power Commission Act (R.S.S., 1930, c. 30), authorizing the Commission to manufacture, sell and supply electrical energy, to acquire and develop water-power sites, to acquire or construct steam and oil plants, to construct transmission lines, to purchase power, and to enter into contracts with municipalities for the supply of energy. The Commission is also given certain control and regulatory powers re the operation of electric public utilities, and is charged with the responsi-